Programs & Forms
Each year millions of dollars in unclaimed property tax refunds go unclaimed by taxpayers. Homeowners who have declared a house to be their homestead, or primary residence, can receive a property tax refund of up to $3,140 from the state of Minnesota, if their household income is below $128,280. For example, if you are a homestead property owner in Big Stone County with an income of $50,000 and a property tax bill of $2,400, your property tax refund would be $897.
A Special Refund is calculated on the same form. It is for anyone whose property tax goes up more than 12% and $100 in a single year, regardless of household income. It generally runs between $81 and $162 and can be requested on top of the traditional homestead credit.
Renters can also apply for a property tax refund. If your income is above $69,520 you are not eligible. The refund for 2023 would be based on rents paid in 2022 and 2022 household income.
These are the refunds you would file with a Minnesota M1PR form. You can file a paper copy, or you can fill out the form online. All this information is available at the Minnesota Department of Revenue website. You can file up to one year after the due date which is 8/15. So, if you forgot to file last year, you must file before 8/15/23 for 2021 property tax refund.
There are two additional ways to reduce your property tax. The first is the Blind or Permanently Disabled Homestead. This program provides a reduced property tax rate for blind or totally disabled property owners who homestead their property. The second program provides a property tax exclusion for the homestead of an honorably discharged veteran who has a service-connected disability rating of 70% or higher. Please contact the Big Stone County Veteran Service Officer, Ward Odom if you have any questions regarding this exclusion.
The first step in this process is to apply for homestead with the assessor’s office. Currently we have over 50 property owners that have not applied for homestead on their homes. To be granted the homestead status, you must be a Minnesota resident, it must be your primary residence, you must have a Minnesota drivers license and most importantly return the completed application.
There are two additional ways to reduce your property tax. The first is the Blind or Permanently Disabled Homestead. This program provides a reduced property tax rate for blind or totally disabled property owners who homestead their property. The second program provides a property tax exclusion for the homestead of an honorably discharged veteran who has a service-connected disability rating of 70% or higher. Please contact the Big Stone County Veteran Service Officer if you have any questions regarding this exclusion.
You can reach the assessor’s office by calling 320-839-6360. Our office hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. You can also contact the Minnesota Department of Revenue at 651-296-3781 or 1-800-652-9094.Homestead
For certain property occupied as a person’s primary place of residence, Minnesota state law provides for a reduction to the general property tax. This reduction is available for properties that fall under the homestead classification.
To qualify for homestead classification, applicants must:
- Have an ownership interest in the property, or be qualifying relatives of at least one owner;
- Occupy the property as their primary place of residence; and
- Be Minnesota residents. (If the property is the primary residence of a qualifying relative of an owner, the owner doesn't need to be a Minnesota resident.)
***Remember to contact our office if you or a qualifying relative occupy the property as their homestead. An application must be made and you must also occupy by December 31st.
Two programs exist to provide tax relief to homesteaders with disabilities:
- Homesteaders who are blind or totally and permanently disabled, and who are receiving benefits from an entity because of their disability.
- Veterans with a service-connected disability rating of 70% or more.
- Generally mailed in July
- Preferred return date September 1st
- Final return date December 31st
- Application for Property Tax Exemption
- Application for Property Tax Exemption: Institution of Purely Public Charity